feeling domestic

Yesterday I finally used a fairly common household item that I had never used before. A crock-pot. Growing up I had seen my mom use crock-pots every so often when she wanted a ready-to-eat meal after a long day of work with little effort, but wanted to maintain the home-cooked aspect. This appliance seemed pretty ingenious. I wasn’t completely convinced until I took a stab at a crock-pot chili recipe that had caught my eye a few weeks ago.

I present you with a recipe for Pumpkin, Turkey, and White Bean Crock-Pot Chili. By far one of the easiest and tastiest recipes I have “tackled” in a long time. As I started to prepare the recipe yesterday, I felt like the perfect blend of smart college student making lunch and dinner for the whole week and a housewife. Moral of the story: crock-pots are awesome.

Recipe via SkinnyTaste

Ingredients:
cooking spray
2 lb lean ground turkey
1/2 tsp olive oil
1 small onion, chopped
3 garlic cloves, minced
1 tsp chili powder, to taste
2 bay leaves
2 tsp cumin
1 tsp oregano
2 (15 oz cans) of white northern beans, rinsed and drained
15 oz can pumpkin puree
4.5 oz canned chopped Hatch green chiles
2 cups low sodium, vegetable broth
chopped cilantro (optional)
salt and pepper to taste

-Saute the turkey, for about five minutes, in a pan that has been sprayed with PAM or other cooking spray and then transfer it to a warm crock-pot.

-Saute diced onion in a pan with olive oil for about three to four minutes. Add cumin and saute for another minute. Add the onions to the warm crock-pot.

-This next part is as easy as it gets. Add all the remaining ingredients into the crock-pot. Set to high for four hours or low for eight hours. When all is said and done you will have a glorious pot of chili.

When I checked on the chili fours hour later, my house smelled amazing. If you make this chili you will not be disappointed. It was the perfect meal for a cold, wintery day. Enjoy!

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

