curried coconut, sweet potato, and chickpea soup

I am currently eating a bowl of this hearty soup and it is warming me from the inside out. This soup is definitely being listed in my “must eat every day” bookmark. The flavor reminds me of that amazing (in my opinion) coconut lemongrass soup that can usually be found at most thai restaurants. I order that lemongrass soup every single time I’m out for thai food. Yum.

Anyway, enough about that soup. Make this soup!

Curried Coconut, Sweet Potato, and Chickpea Soup
2 tbsp olive oil
1 large onion, chopped
1 red bell pepper, diced
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 tbsp curry powder
1 can chickpeas, drained
2 large sweet potatoes, cubed
4 cups vegetable broth
2 cups water
1 can light coconut milk
salt to taste
chopped cilantro (whatever amount you’d like!)

Heat the olive oil in a large soup pot over medium heat. Add the onions and bell pepper and saute until softened. Add the minced garlic and cook for a few minutes more. Add curry powder and stir everything for one minute. Add chickpeas, cubed sweet potato, vegetable broth, water and coconut milk. Season to taste with salt. Bring to a boil, then reduce to a simmer and cook until sweet potatoes have softened. This will take about 30 minutes. Add the cilantro for garnish!

I ended up throwing it all in the crock-pot because I didn’t have a soup pot large enough. I definitely need a larger pot. Christmas is coming soon…. (Hi Mom!)

Enjoy! Happy Sunday!

One thought on “curried coconut, sweet potato, and chickpea soup

Leave a Reply

