roasted butternut baked penne with browned butter and sage

Boy oh boy do I have a good recipe for ya! This pasta dish is the definition of comfort food. I ran across a similar baked pasta dish earlier this week while browsing through my daily blogs and knew I had to make this asap! I have had a butternut squash sitting on my counter for a few weeks that has been dying to be used. I present you with….

Recipe:
Lightly adapted from How Sweet It Is

1 butternut squash (peeled and cubed)
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon pepper
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
2 tablespoons vegan butter
1 cup almond milk
1/2 pound whole wheat penne
1/2 cup freshly grated mozzarella cheese
1/4 cup freshly grated parmesan cheese
sage leaves

Pre-heat the oven to 400. Toss the cubed butternut squash in olive oil, salt, and pepper. Roast for 25 minutes until soft and lightly browned.

After the squash has been fully roasted, start browning the butter in a saucepan with the nutmeg. Once the butter has fully browned, toss the roasted squash into the sauce pan.

Begin mashing the squash with either a potato masher or a whisk. Add enough milk to get the sauce at your desired consistency.

Once the pasta has finished, mix together the pasta and butternut squash puree.

Place the mixture into a glass baking dish and sprinkle with mozzarella and parmesean cheese. Place sage leaves (if desired) on top of the cheese blend.

I immediately dug my fork right in once it came out of the oven. It was good. Like really good.
I portioned it out for my lunches for the week. I am definitely going to be looking forward to mealtime.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

