the latest

Hey friends!

So just last week I started my Nutrition Education internship and so far I am LOVING it. I didn’t realize how completely stoked I would be teaching and observing 1st graders taste test fruits, vegetables and grains. I also didn’t realize how excited they would be to try dates and vegetable chili! It is awesome!

Last week, the kids learned about protein by playing a few games and then tasting some fresh guacamole with cilantro, onion, and a bit of bell pepper with a blue corn chip. Gotta have that rainbow of color in their diet!

After their lesson, I came home with avocado on the brain and hungry for lunch! I whipped up a mixed greens salad with chunks of ripe avocado, crisp carrots, and peppered turkey breast. I topped it off with a DELICIOUS honey mustard vinaigrette. My protein quota was filled. Practice what you preach!

Served alongside a smoothie consisting of: 100% guava juice, frozen strawberries, peaches, and a bit of greek yogurt. I’ve been on a major smoothie kick lately.

Fast forward to this week, week three of my last winter quarter at UCSC! School has gotten busy and I’m running from one thing to the next, but that didn’t stop me from picking up a special treat at New Leaf before class today…

It was my very first time trying coconut butter and I am a fan. I smeared it on a whole wheat english muffin before a spin class and fell a little bit in love. I can’t wait to try it in steel cut oatmeal or on some whole wheat waffles. Yum.

Hope everyone’s week has been a good one so far! I’ll leave you with this beautiful view off of West Cliff and a quote courtesy of Yogi tea.

-K

Leave a Reply

