arugula pesto

The following recipe was made oh maybe five months ago? But whose counting? Regardless, a lot has happened since my last post! I graduated with a degree in Molecular Biology from UC Santa Cruz, moved to San Diego, started graduate school, and am feeling as though I am exactly where I should be in this crazy thing called life. After getting settled and (attempting) to create a fully stocked kitchen, I have gotten the itch to start blogging again. I finally unearthed a handful of photos from my DSLR and was reminded of recipes that should have been posted months ago! Better late than never right?

Arugula is one of those greens that you either love, or hate.  I’m mostly on the fence when it comes to this peppery, leafy green. The few times I have eaten an arugula salad, the flavor has been a bit overwhelming. When made into pesto, however, I was pleasantly surprised and have grown quite fond of it! It was a nice change from the classic basil pesto and this recipe is honestly too easy not to make!

Arugula Pesto

4 cups arugula leaves (packed)
1/4 cup toasted pine nuts
1/4 cup freshly grated Parmesan cheese
1/4 cup olive oil
3 garlic cloves
Salt and Pepper to taste

Begin by toasting the pine nuts (I used a cast iron skillet), which gives them an amazing smokey flavor. Use a dry skillet with a medium-low heat to ensure even browning. Gently shake the nuts in the pan to prevent burning. Once toasted, set the nuts aside to cool.

In a food processor, place the arugula leaves, pine nuts, Parmesan cheese, olive oil and garlic. Feel free to add more olive to help everything blend evenly.

Blend until smooth! I served the pesto over whole wheat penne with baby heirloom tomatoes!

Enjoy!

-K

One thought on “arugula pesto

Leave a Reply

