pumpkin pie spiced almonds

A week ago I was writing about the weather cooling down in San Diego. I was itching to bake and pull out my scarves and boots. I spoke way too soon. Just last week it was in the high 80s and I could be found studying by the pool and acquiring a bit of a sunburn. Oh Southern California, how you amaze me with your freakishly good weather.

With that being said, I am very ready for cooler temps. I came home this weekend and am currently blogging while looking at an overcast sky. I’m going cycling this morning and, dare I say it, may have to pull out some leggings and a sweatshirt. So excited.

Last week I made some roasted almonds coated in a mix of agave nectar, pumpkin pie spice, salt, and vanilla. They were really good. So good that I already ate the whole batch…

pumpkin spice almonds

  • 1 cup raw, unsalted almonds
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/4 teaspoon sea salt
  • 2 tablespoons agave nectar (or maple syrup/honey)
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla

Preheat the oven to 325.  Put one cup of almonds in a bowl and pour the dry ingredients right over the almonds.  Toss to coat.   Drizzle the agave and vanilla over the almonds and toss until completely coated.  Spray a cookie sheet with oil and place the almonds onto the sheet, evenly distributed.

Roast the almonds for about 15-20 minutes, flipping once, until they appear toasted.  Let cool completely and store in an airtight container.

 

To be entirely honest I kind of burnt this batch. They still tasted pumpkin-y though!

Enjoy!

-K

Leave a Reply

